Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Your Vote Counts!

In 1988, the Museum of Broadcast Communications, located in Chicago, inducted the first members into the National Radio Hall of Fame. Altogether, 18 broadcasting legends were recognized that first year, and they included:

Fred Allen
Martin Block
Himan Brown
Charles Corell
Don Dunphy
Alan Freed
Arthur Godfrey
Benny Goodman
Freeman Gosden
Guglielmo Marconi
Groucho Marx
Bruce Morrow
Edward R. Murrow
William S. Paley
Virginia Payne
Bill Stern
Fran Striker
Orson Welles

Since then, the National Radio Hall of Fame has annually honored those who shaped and transformed the radio and the broadcasting industry. You will no doubt recognize their names – Abbott and Costello, Bob Hope, Larry King, Casey Kasem, Bing Crosby, Dick Clark, Fred Foy, Harry Kalas, Gene Autry, Jimmy Durante, Tommy Dorsey, and more, totaling close to 150 individual performers, announcers, and personalities. In addition, 31 programs, including Burns and Allen, The Goldbergs, The Lone Ranger, Little Orphan Annie, CBS World News Roundup, and CBS Radio Mystery Theater, have also been honored.

“Before radio, there was silence,” the Radio Hall of Fame proclaims on its Web site. “Radio came first… Radio marked the first instant medium shared collectively by millions.” Those who left their stamp on what has now become known as “The Golden Age of Radio” are most deserving of their special distinction in the National Radio Hall of Fame, and today, many legends-in-the-making are adding their imprint to this ever-evolving yet still-golden medium.

Courtesy WICC. All rights reserved.

In February 2011, several individuals submitted letters of support and nomination to the Museum of Broadcast Communications on Bob Crane’s behalf to place him on the official ballot for the 2011 National Radio Hall of Fame. Most letters were from co-workers in radio; WICC in Bridgeport sent its endorsement of Bob Crane’s nomination as well. 

In a few weeks, the Museum of Broadcast Communications and the Radio Hall of Fame Committee will release the official 2011 ballot. Voting is open to the public, and your vote counts! As we wait for its release, we’ll keep you entertained with Bob Crane’s radio antics and achievements, as well as reasons why we believe he should be inducted into the National Radio Hall of Fame. It is our hope that his name is not only placed on the ballot, but that he is recognized this year for his contributions to radio and broadcasting, something that is long overdue. 

IMPORTANT NOTE: The National Radio Hall of Fame Steering Committee did not open voting to the public for the 2011 Class. For more information about Bob Crane's nomination and our efforts for 2012, please click here.